IPL cricket facts


IPL cricket facts


IPL Cricket

IPL Cricket

Here are some facts related to the IPL cricket event organised every year. IPL stands for Indian Premier League. IPL was started in the year 2008. The event has been held each year since then. As of now, the event is contested by 9 teams. The Hyderabad based team-Deccan Chargers has been scrapped off and a new team is set to make debut in 2013- Hyderabad Sunrisers.

The teams are- Chennai Superkings, Hyderabad Sunrisers, Pune Warriors, Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kings XI Punjab, Delhi Daredevils and Kolkata Knight Riders.

Few months ago, IPL grabbed eyeballs during the auction, which saw 37 players being sold. Glenn Maxwell was the pick of the lot by joining the million dollar club.

Winners of the tournament:
2008- Rajasthan Royals.
2009-Deccan Chargers (doesn’t exist now).
2010-Chennai Superkings.
2011-Chennai Superkings.
2012-Kolkata Knight Riders.

IPL has had its fair share of controversies too. One example is the ‘Slap-gate’ incident, where Harbhajan Singh of Mumbai Indians slapped S Sreesanth of Kings XI Punjab. In the fourth season, after the bidding for Kerala team was found shady, minister Shashi Tharoor resigned. Lalit Modi, the IPL chairman and commissioner was removed from his position too. In the fifth season, some cricketers were found indulging in spot-fixing and other betting affairs after a sting operation carried out by India TV. Earlier, Pakistan players were banned from participating in IPL. Tamil Nadu government has asked BCCI to ban Sri Lankan players from playing in IPL 2013.

Despite all the controversies, IPL matches attract huge crowds and is watched by millions on TV. The T20 format ensures a high dose of entertainment. The opening and closing ceremonies are also a treat to watch. International celebrities like Akon have performed along with Indian celebrities here. This year, Pitbull is expected to entertain the crowds at the opening ceremony.

The entire schedule of IPL 2013 can be found here.

Here are the top bowlers and batsmen of IPL so far:

Top Bowlers of IPL
Name Matches Wickets Economy Best Bowling
Lasith Malinga 56 83 6.0 5-13
Amit Mishra 59 74 7.0 5-17
RP Singh 67 74 8.0 4-13
P Chawla 71 73 8.0 5-17
Munaf Patel 57 70 7.0 5-21
Pragyan Ojha 63 69 7.0 3-21
A Morkel 70 69 8.0 4-29
Irfan Pathan 73 66 8.0 3-16
Zaheer Khan 62 65 8.0 3-14
Vinay Kumar 61 61 8.0 4-30

Here are the Top Batsmen of IPL so far:

Top Batsmen of IPL
Name Matches Runs Average Highest Score
Suresh Raina 81 2254 33.64 98
Gautham Gambhir 72 2065 33.30 93
Sachin Tendulkar 64 2047 37.90 100
Rohit Sharma 78 1975 31.34 109
Jacques Kallis 74 1965 30.70 89
Virendra Sehwag 66 1879 30.30 119
Chris Gayle 43 1804 50.11 128
M S Dhoni 78 1782 37.12 70
Adam Gilchrist 67 1775 27.75 109
Rahul Dravid 71 1703 27.91 75


Share this awesome article!